No matches

Ninjas in Pyjamas have announced that Hampus “hampus” Poser will be replacing Jonas “Lekr0” Olofsson in the active lineup. NiP will be kicking off their new lineup with hampus on May 28th in the DreamHack Masters Spring tournament.

Lekr0 had been a member of NiP since June 2018 when he was brought in to replace William “draken” Sundin. He would become the teams in-game leader just a month later and helped guide the team to some impressive finishes throughout his tenure with the squad. It wasn’t all positive, however, and the team definitely saw its fair share of struggles leading to this move.

hampus had most recently plasyed on GamerLegion which saw its roster fall apart in March. The 21-year-old has been on the bench contracted to the organization since.

Jonas Gundersen, COO at NiP, had the following to say in regards to the move in the official announcement.

“Success and trophies are a natural part of the Ninjas in Pyjamas legacy and it’s been a top priority of mine to build an esports setup that will allow us to consistently recruit, develop, and retain the highest caliber of talent. It’s in our DNA to be a team that contests for the big trophies, and we want to get back there. We have already seen a lot of promise with our new roster and it’s because of that we are now able to look further ahead and benchmark it versus our long term aspirations. The philosophy and ideologies I have around the future of esports performance, is something that I am unwilling to compromise on, and something that we constantly have to keep evolving in order to become the best, and that is why we have chosen to do a roster change. Lekr0 has done an excellent job in NiP, but sometimes a team needs to evolve in a different direction, causing a natural shift.”

With the new RMR system for the Major, NiP will lose 20% of its 1,200 points due to losing a member of the lineup that earned them in the ESL One: Road to Rio event.

Ninjas in Pyjamas CS:GO division:

-Fredrik “REZ” Sterner
-Nicolas “Plopski” Gonzalez Zamora
-Simon “twist” Eliasson
-Tim “nawwk” Jonasson
-Hampus “hampus” Poser

-Björn “THREAT” Pers (coach)
-Jonas “Lekr0” Olofsson (benched)

Related article:

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter