No matches

Together with the North American LCS, the LPL will be the first of the major LoL leagues to kick off its summer season. China’s premier tournament opens on the weekend of Jun. 1 and already there’s some interesting matches to look forward to.

On Saturday, JD Gaming meet FunPlus Phoenix in a semifinal rematch from the LPL Spring Playoffs. JDG were the surprise story of last split, going all the way to the finals as the #8 seed, and beat all of Team WE, Royal Never Give Up, and FPX before losing the final 0-3 to Invictus Gaming. A win on Saturday will be small consolation for FPX captain Kim “Doinb” Tae-sang for losing the semifinal, but it will be a nice way to start the season.

On Sunday, WE will play RNG in the other high-profile match. Both teams ended their LPL Spring campaign early, but are still among the more formidable rosters in the league. The game sets up a high-octane bot lane match-up between Jian “Uzi” Zi-Hao and Jin “Mystic” Seong-jun — two of the best AD Carries in China — and fans can hope that the two have warmed up enough to put up a performance.

A few teams have also gone through rebranding for the LPL Summer Split. SinoDragon will now play as Dominus Esports from now on. Snake Esports have rebranded to LNG Esports, and Topsports Gaming have chosen the shorter, cleaner Top Esports.

2019 LPL Spring: Week 1 schedule

DMO vs. EDG — Jun. 1, Sat — 11:00 CEST | 02:00 PST
JDG vs. FPX — Jun. 1, Sat — 13:00 CEST | 04:00 PST
LGD vs. V5 — Jun. 2, Sun — 11:00 CEST | 02:00 PST
WE vs. RNG — Jun. 2, Sun — 13:00 CEST | 04:00 PST

Share on FacebookShare on TwitterCopy hyperlink